Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
Noel

Gold Member
Reply with quote  #1 
1. Approaching a teacher for solo choreography, etiquette? Specifically with regards to music and content. I know for certain that DD would love to have certain skills included, it would mean a lot to her for them to be a part of the routine. Is that rude? (truly truly a newbie here)

2. Approaching a teacher for solo choreography, etiquette... music. Is it acceptable to bring a few songs to the teacher or do you wait for the teacher to advise you of what the teacher would like to choreograph for you?

3. Conventions w/ competitions attached. Once we can get a solo from #s 1 and 2 above, attending as an independent, what should we know? Newbie level so please assume that we don't know whatever it is you might want to share.

4. Are there generalities to how independents at conventions are treated or is it company by company dependent?
JojosDanceMom

Platinum Member
Reply with quote  #2 
1. Depends entirely on the teacher and how she handles things.  Some love the feedback, others despise it, and there is a whole range in between.
2.  Same as above, it completely depends on the teacher
    - For both 1 and 2 I would start under the assumption that the teacher does not want input and then feel her out going forward.  This season you may have zero input, but once you get to know her you may develop a rapport and be able to offer more input.
3. I'm only familiar with NYCDA and Break The Floor (Nuvo, Jump, 24 Seven, etc.) convention/comps.  For NYCDA you cannot enter a solo unless there is a teacher registered for the weekend as well.  For BTF you can't enter a solo unless you're also doing a group.  Conventions for both are open to all.
4. I don't find independents being treated any differently than studio kids at the conventions.  Often times independent entries win to placements and scholarships.
Noel

Gold Member
Reply with quote  #3