Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
dancingymnast

High Bronze Member
Reply with quote  #1 
DD12 is currently at a non-competing studio, but wants to compete next year. I contacted one of the studios in the area, and she is trying out a class tonight. I'm still new to this, so what should I be looking out for? What questions should I ask?

What's important for me at this point is that she likes the studio, feels comfortable there, feels welcomed by teachers and kids. But I have no idea what to look for in terms of technique, quality of dance, etc. Any suggestions?
cynmckee

Platinum Member
Reply with quote  #2 
Do they place highly consistently?  That doesn't mean everything but it will be a starting point.  I would ask about fees for competing.  This can vary wildly from studio to studio and I guarantee you will get sticker shock.  Ask if they bring in big name choreographers because those fees, if there are a lot of them, can price you out of this activity.  Ask if they practice dances during the week or are the classes strictly technique classes.  This is important.  Do the rec kids have access to the same classes as the non-rec kids.  This is important too because it means that the studio cares about all dancers and their dance life after competition.
momcrew

High Gold Member
Reply with quote  #3 
Do they require all comp students to take ballet and if so, how much? I wouldn't take a second look at any studio who doesn't require ballet. 
dancer1234

High Silver Member
Reply with quote  #4 
What is the Requirements of parent of Competition dancers?   Some may require fundraising, Prop transporting, etc..
I second momcrew on the ballet question

dave9988

High Gold Member
Reply with quote  #5 
As Momcrew says, I'd look at their ballet requirements.