Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
Motherhem

High Bronze Member
Reply with quote  #1 
My dd is a HS junior in and we are just staring the college search. Does anyone have any recommendations on good college programs we should research?

Her main training is in ballet but she is also good at modern and she would possibly like to try some musical theater while at college as she has a good voice.
She wants to make sure she can take enough ballet classes to keep her training up so a rigorous training program is preferred with lots of performance opportunities (if possible). She currently trains in ballet 20 hours a week plus rehearsals for the performing company she is in. She is not on the competition circuit.

She is insistent, she wants to go to college and get a degree but she doesn’t want to rule out the possibility of dancing with a company or for a living sometime in the future.

I am new to the college program search. I just learned from this forum I need to start college audition planning now. I’d love college recommendations from your experience and any advice on getting through this process successfully. (Hopefully with a scholarship.)

I have read BT4D. But I feel I need to know more To build a list for my daughter. And so many of the posts there are old which makes me feel they are outdated. I also have been looking at college websites but there are so many I want to narrow my focus a bit.

So I am hoping for a fresh up to date perspective from you guys! Thank you in advance for your comments and opinions!!
Motherhem

High Bronze Member
Reply with quote  #2 
I forgot to add she is 16 going on 17 with 13 years of training. 5 years on pointe. She has a lot of performing experience in original works. They perform at her school 6 or 7 times a year. From small 5 dance exhibitions to large full ballet programs twice a year. She does well in auditions.