Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment   Page 1 of 3      1   2   3   Next
BetsyD

Bronze Member
Reply with quote  #1 
Hello, all. So glad I found this community. I am a newbie to the comp scene. My DD7 competed for the second time recently (a solo). She came in 3rd overall in performance division mini. Her DT says she is very good for her age- great musicality, learns choreo quickly and technique is good and improving. However, I watched the dancers she competed against and their routines were very simple, jazz.(DD is doing a lyrical). I am not at all trying to say that the little girls were not good but the 1st and 2nd place winners both forgot the ends of their routine and stood there for a while and shrugged. The judges are not told what level the dancers are in so they judge everyone the same - novice, intermediate, advanced. According to DT, my DD's s solo is advanced for her age and level. I guess my question is this: Does a simple routine just score better than a more technical dance from a dancer at the same age and level? My DD had mistakes so I am not trying to say she was better but  she could have done the simple routine, but she wants to be challenged and DT thinks that is impressive at her age and level. Ooops, I guess not. [wink] Any advice? I think her confidence took a hit,and now I just want to scrap the whole thing. However, she insists on the next comp in May.
BreezysMom

High Silver Member
Reply with quote  #2 
I'm not even sure where to begin but I will say this...

You and your daughter are barking up the wrong tree if placing 3rd overall in her first comp is disappointing.
BetsyD

Bronze Member
Reply with quote  #3 
I am sorry. I should have added this part. It wasn't the placing third. It was the judges' critiques. That is where the confidence took a hit. Pretty harsh on many aspects  of the dance that she and even DT thought were done well. Ooops, my mistake- hope that makes more sense. 
BetsyD

Bronze Member