Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
dancingymnast

High Bronze Member
Reply with quote  #1 
I'm still new to dance. DD took one class this year, and wants to take more next year, but her goal is to eventually compete. I know nothing about competitive dance. We came from gymnastics, and in gymnastics world the process of making a team is often very confusing, invitations only, very secretive, etc. 
We are only at the beginning of our dance journey, but I want to understand how it works here. How long did you daughter take lessons before making a team? What classes did she take? Do you have to take classes at a studio you are planning to audition for team at, or can you take classes at a non-competing studio, and then go and audition at a few competing studios?

The studio we are at now doesn't compete. They have a "performance company", which performs at different events throughout the year, but not competitions. It's a local studio, literally 3 minutes from our house, and a lot of DD's school friends go there. I found 4 competing studios within a reasonable driving distance (20-25 minutes), but I would rather not do the driving until I absolutely have to. Plus she likes it at her current studio and wants to stay with her friends for now. So, if she takes classes at a local studio, can she then audition for team at another studio? Or maybe take some classes here and some classes there? What would you do?

My2DanceLoves

Diamond Member
Reply with quote  #2