Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
Angel2228

High Gold Member
Reply with quote  #1 
My Dd14 has a possible five competitions this year, plus a run though show and 4 recitals.
I have seen her every single time she's been on stage. With the exception of my once a year, one recital volunteer back stage, where I still catch her from the wings. I think because it started as a slow boil. One recital, one comp to this. And I am feeling overwhelmed I think. I booked the time from work. (Comps are 4-5 days long) so essentially, I took off just over a month this spring. I feel bad because only only one person can be off at a time. There's one week I have that someone else wants off. They're pretty open on lunches, so I was thinking I could give it up for her and take my lunch when dd has a solo, and skip the groups. But I think I'm some what panicking, I've never done that before. I've missed my sons hockey games for dance, but I think it feels different because the games are 2 hours and I get texts play by play of how it's going from whoever took him.
Do you watch every single time they are on stage?
threedancingdaughters

High Bronze Member
Reply with quote  #2 
I haven't missed a dance show or comp yet since DD8 joined comp last year, but I will miss a dance show this weekend and I'm nervous about it! Mostly sad for myself, because I love watching her dance and don't want to miss out, and nervous about arranging to get her hair and makeup done! (I'm OCD about her hair/makeup, lol). I work every third weekend and somehow lucked out with comps being all on weekends I have off, but this one show didn't work for swapping weekends at work [frown] Also sad because I just bought a new camera lens and was excited to try it out at the show, since they allow video and non-flash (dance show at a local high school).
emmymom

High Platinum Member
Reply with quote  #3