Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
Lampens777

Novice Member
Reply with quote  #1 
I'm fairly new to this. Do kids wear jazz shoes for dance with acro tricks like back tucks or are they too slippery?
5678StarMom

High Gold Member
Reply with quote  #2 
Depends on the kid, depends on the dance. Ours regularly do side and front aerials in jazz shoes, tennis shoes, and turners because that's the costuming. I don't see our studio ever implementing back tucks. You could always add a stickiness factor to the shoes with rosin or coke before going on stage if they need to have more grip.
MNDanceDad

Silver Member
Reply with quote  #3 
My son does a lot of acro and he wears jazz shoes for it.  They need to be pretty fresh and new though.  We go through them quickly.
Lampens777

Novice Member
Reply with quote  #4 
Wow...I didn't think I would get such a quick response.  Thank you both...your awesome!  Very helpful! 
Lampens777

Novice Member
Reply with quote  #5 
Does your son use anything for stickiness?  If so...what does he use? 
nyklane

High Silver Member
Reply with quote  #6 
Our girls use Jazz or Half soles (lyrical shoes) when doing acro.  If it's an acro only routine, they will have bare feet, however we do a lot of "open" so there are turns as well.
Lampens777

Novice Member
Reply with quote  #7 
How do they keep from slipping with jazz shoes?
lovemykids

Silver Member
Reply with quote  #8 
My daughter would either go barefoot, with foot paws or with half soles when there's a lot of tricks. Maybe a single aerial or a back handspring has been done in dances were the costume called for jazz shoes, but the ones that have had more tricks they haven't used them. I feel like the jazz shoes are definitely more slippery. The best grip for the tricks comes either form sneakers or the foot, that's why footwear that leaves part of the foot exposed is preferred if wearing any at all
MimisMom

Silver Member
Reply with quote  #9