Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
Noel

Silver Member
Reply with quote  #1 
We are transitioning from the USASF all star world to traditional studio world... last Spring there was a panic as USASF informed owners that they must only use cover songs or songs untouched, unedited, unless edited for length, but that the overall song must be left intact (in other words you couldn't swap the middle for the intro and end with the beginning).

How does this work in the studio based world? Please understand I am operating as a total novice parent in this regard. Assume I know nothing about this (because for the most part I don't). I'm curious as to how things work as people are asking about purchasing and cutting music. At first glance it would appear there is a little more room to be creative here in "studio" based?
melissa745

Platinum Member
Reply with quote  #2 
I have no idea how the rights are, but many of my DDs songs are remixes of more than one piece. The production number has about 5 different songs put together. 
czmcdaniel

Gold Member
Reply with quote  #3 
We just came from USASF coming back to dance - technically there is no "governing body" of dance so aside from time lengths (usually dictated by competition) and being "clean" there are no music restrictions I am aware of....
Good Luck!
Noel

Silver Member
Reply with quote  #4 
CZMCdaniel, I would love to hear about how you made the transition from USASF to dance. Were you in cheer or dance in all star ? Forgive me if that is too nosy, but it would be nice to hear about someone else's experience too. Thank you for replying !
tendumom

High Platinum Member
Reply with quote  #5 
Most studios pay annual fees to the 2 major music licensing companies which covers just about everything they normally do based on the fee they pay. 

Dd danced to a hip hop piece one year that must have had 12 or more songs remixed into it. 
Noel

Silver Member
Reply with quote  #6